A fault is crack where chunks of the Earth’s crust on both sides have cracked and have been displaced. Most happen along plate boundaries. There are three major types of faults normal, reverse, and strike- slip faults. Normal faults occur when tension in the crust tears the rock apart thus creating a normal fault. The fault is tilted so that one chunk sits above and the other sits under the fault. The one situated on top is called the hanging wall while the other on the bottom is the foot wall. Reverse fault tend to occur where the crust is squeezed together the pressure causes the faults to form. Apart from the direction of the crust movement reverse and normal faults have an identical structure. The scraping of plates as the travel past each other makes strike- slip faults.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s